Recognizing, Mitigating, and Eliminating Bias in Jury Selection and Jury Trials

  • a Virtual Setting
  • December 18, 2023

Recognizing, Mitigating, and Eliminating Bias in Jury Selection and Jury Trials

Live Webinar   |   Monday, December 18, 2023
10:00 – 11:00 am PST, 11:00 am – 12:00 pm MST, 12:00 – 1:00 pm CST, 1:00 – 2:00 pm EST

Registration closes at 3:00 pm MST on December 15, 2023

FNREL Members $25
Nonmembers $50

Colorado has approved this webinar for 1 DEI credit.

This one-hour webinar will explore the impact of differences in race, gender, culture, and ethnicity in jury selection and jury trials in civil litigation. The speaker will address considerations for practicing attorneys in selecting and presenting a case to the jury, while considering bias in the legal profession and legal system.

Participants will be able to ask questions that will be addressed at the end of the presentation.

SAMANTHA D. HOLMES, Ph.D., Partner, EDGE Litigation Consulting LLC, Houston, Texas

DR. SAMANTHA HOLMES earned her doctorate in Social Psychology at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Sam has worked in the field of jury psychology for almost two decades and has worked with clients on hundreds of different cases—including insurance/bad faith, intellectual property, pharmaceutical, amusement/leisure industry, product liability, tobacco, corporate fraud, antitrust, contract disputes, employment, toxic tort, securities, and medical and professional malpractice. She has worked on cases in a wide variety of venues including those in Illinois, New York, Pennsylvania, Florida, Texas, West Virginia, New Hampshire, Vermont, California, and even Alaska. She has helped attorneys from around the country develop persuasive strategies for both trial and mediation. Sam’s training and experience have made her highly skilled at data collection and interpretation, statistical analysis, and juror profiling and have given her impeccable interpersonal skills. Sam has written several published articles and served as a faculty lecturer at many law firms, as well as regional and national conferences including ones sponsored by the American Bar Association and the Defense Research Institute.