Scholar Development Program


The Foundation has a robust scholarship program that provides tuition support for students at The Foundation’s Constituent Law Schools (CLS). This program includes The Foundation Scholarships funded by unrestricted reserves and named restricted scholarships in honor or memory of certain long-time Foundation constituents, including Joe Rudd, Mary Viviano, Cassie Boggs, Dick Bates, Jim King, and Chuck Moran. The Foundation also offers Frances Hartogh Diversity Outreach Scholarships that provide funding for living expenses for students at CLS, and Diversity and Outreach Scholarships that provide tuition support for Black and Indigenous students at any accredited law schools.


The Foundation offers additional programs to support students, including reimbursement of travel expenses for both CLS students and students at other accredited law schools to attend The Foundation’s conferences and other programs, and funding for CLS student organizations to hold networking events with lawyers and other professionals in the local community.


The Foundation’s grants program offers financial support primarily to academics for projects in the fields of oil and gas, mining, renewable energy, water, public lands, and related legal areas.


Programs for law teachers include the biennial Natural Resources Law Teachers Institute, the Natural Resources Law Teachers Newsletter, and the Clyde O. Martz Teaching Award.

STUDENTS AND RECENT GRADUATES -- Our Student Memberships and New Professionals Memberships are just for you. See the Membership page.