2023-2024 Academic Year Scholarships

The 2023-2024 Scholarship Application Period Will Open in Fall 2022 

Application Deadlines

JD Candidates: February 28, 2023

LLM/SJD Candidates: March 15, 2023 

The Foundation for Natural Resources and Energy Law has a number of scholarship programs that provide tuition support to law students who attend The Foundation’s Constituent Law Schools: The Foundation Scholarships, established in 1993 and funded by The Foundation’s unrestricted funds (including one scholarship in honor of former long-time Executive Director Dave Phillips); Joe Rudd Scholarships, an endowed restricted scholarship established in 1979 in honor of a prominent Alaskan natural resources attorney; recently established endowed restricted scholarships in memory of Mary Viviano and Chuck Moran; and other restricted scholarships in memory of Dick Bate, Jim King, and Cassie Boggs. 

The Foundation also offers Frances Hartogh Diversity Outreach Scholarships (FHDOS) that support living expenses for students at CLS, and Equity and Inclusion scholarships for Black and Indigenous JD students at any accredited law schools. For background on the establishment of the FHDOS awards, “Race, Ethnicity, and Natural Resources in the United States: A Review,” by John Schelhas, may be viewed here.) 

In 2021 alone, The Foundation awarded $276 thousand in scholarships, and since the inception of the scholarship programs, The Foundation has awarded more than $3.6 million in scholarships.

Students at CLS may complete one application that covers each of these programs, although students should pay special attention to the criteria for the named scholarships and address those criteria in the application, if applicable. General criteria apply to all of the scholarship programs, but certain scholarships, other than The Foundation Scholarships, may have additional criteria. Students should review the scholarship application for more information. 

Equity and Inclusion Scholarships

The Equity and Inclusion Scholarship was established in 2020. Scholarships are awarded to one or two JD applicants annually who meet certain general criteria and who identify as either Black or Indigenous (including Native American and First Nation). To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must be enrolled full time at an accredited law school but need not be attending a Constituent Law School. A student must demonstrate serious and diligent pursuit of academic achievement. Other criteria include leadership ability, year in law school, and financial need. 

Learn More Here


For most scholarships, a law student who is enrolled full-time at one of the Foundation’s Constituent Law Schools and who can demonstrate a commitment to the study of natural resources or energy law is eligible to apply. LLM students and incoming 1Ls who have applied to one of these schools but have not yet been accepted may also apply. Unlike our other scholarships, Equity and Inclusion Scholarships are available to full-time Black and Indigenous JD students at accredited law schools whether or not they are attending a Constituent Law School. 

Scholarship Amounts

Fall, spring, and full-year scholarships may cover partial or full tuition. Recent awards have ranged from $1,000 to $18,000. Tuition scholarships must be used at, and will be paid directly to, the student's law school.

Award Process

Applications are evaluated and awards are made by The Foundation’s Scholarships Committee according to the following criteria:

  • Potential to make a significant contribution to the field of natural resources law
  • Academic ability
  • Leadership ability
  • Year in law school
  • Financial need

Application Process

When the application form is available, students should complete the application in its entirety and submit the application and all applicable attachments to Students who submit an application should receive an email confirming receipt of their documents within two business days. If you do not, please call The Foundation at 303-321-8100 and ask for Jaleen Edwards or Deanna Crowe. If you are only applying for the Equity and Inclusion Scholarship, you may use a shorter form. 

Application Deadlines

The completed application form and supporting documents must be submitted by February 28, 2023, for JD Applicants and March 15, 2023, for LLM/SJD Applicants. Students enrolled in a combined JD/Masters programs must  observe the JD Application deadline. INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS AND APPLICATIONS RECEIVED AFTER THE DEADLINE WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED.

Congratulations to all the 2022 - 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Joe Rudd Scholarship Awards

Phillip Hanna, University of Calgary
Karlee Mansfield,
Southern Methodist University
Taryn McLaughlin,
University of California-Davis
Veronica Shaner,
University of Denver
Zach Zahn,
Texas Tech University

Richard H. Bate Scholar

Veronica Shaner, University of Denver

Catherine J. Boggs Scholar

Shanza Arif, University of Alberta

James M. King Scholar

Brendan Barbara, University of Colorado

Mary A. Viviano Scholar

Jessie Drennen, University of Houston

Charles Edgar “Chuck” Moran Scholar

Jillian Borreson, Texas Tech University

Equity and Inclusion Scholars

Tara Hammer, Washburn University
Alyson SoundingSides,
University of Wyoming

The Foundation Scholarship Awards

Semhar Abraha, University of Calgary
Chinonso Anozie, Southern Methodist University
Shanza Arif, University of Alberta
Catherine Awasthi, Florida State University
Timothy Baker, University of New Mexico 
Jacob Bandas, University of Utah
Brendan Barbara, University of Colorado
Amy Blake, Texas Tech University
Natalie Boldt, University of Denver
Jillian Borreson, Texas Tech University
*Alysa Campbell, University of Utah
Brannen Caraway, Texas Tech University
Jessie Drennen, University of Houston
Colton Edwards, University of Wyoming
Jonathan Ezeumeh, University of Calgary
Adam Fisher, University of Colorado
Alyssa Florack, University of Utah
Tara HammerWashburn University

Phillip Hanna, University of Calgary
Jamie Johnson,
Lewis and Clark Law School
Isaiah Martin
, University of Calgary
Andre Matheusik, University of Calgary
Taryn McLaughlin, University of California-Davis
Akinbobola (Kay) Olugbemi, University of Calgary
Erin Parker, Southern Methodist University
Jordan Prestie, University of Alberta
Veronica Shaner, University of Denver
Sonja Smerud, University of Minnesota
Alyson SoundingSides, University of Wyoming
Avery Steen, Southern Methodist University
Carson Tanner, University of Wyoming
Cheyenne Trujillo, University of New Mexico
Kevin Woldhagen, University of the Pacific-McGeorge
Zach Zahn, Texas Tech University
Noah Zedek, University of Denver


*David P. Phillips Scholarship

The Foundation congratulates the awardees and thanks all of the applicants for their interest and efforts!  

If you would like to support and/or learn more about The Foundation and its programs, contact The Foundation at 303-321-8100 or