A Survey of Recent Subsurface Property Rights Litigation

  • a Virtual Setting
  • April 17, 2024

A Survey of Recent Subsurface Property Rights Litigation 

Live Webinar   |   Wednesday, April 17, 2024
11:00am-12:00pm PT, 12:00-1:00pm MT, 1:00-2:00p CT, 2:00-3:00p ET

Registration closes at 12:00 pm MT on April 16, 2024

FNREL Members FREE
Nonmembers $75

A Survey of Recent Subsurface Property Rights Litigation 

The past few years have seen several interesting and significant developments in the law pertaining to ownership and use of subsurface pore space. This presentation would provide an overview of recent cases touching on who owns title to natural and artificial voids in the subsurface, the right to inject fluids into the subsurface, the application of state surface damage acts to the use of pore space in oil and gas development, and remedies for subsurface invasions. The presentation would attempt to summarize the state of the law around pore space and identify important questions that remain uncertain.

JOSEPH SCHREMMER, Associate Professor, The University of Oklahoma School of Law, Norman, OK