BLM’s Revised Waste Prevention Rule – What the Oil & Gas Industry Needs to Know

  • a Virtual Setting
  • May 1, 2024

BLM’s Revised Waste Prevention Rule – What the Oil & Gas Industry Needs to Know 

Live Webinar   |   Wednesday, May 1, 2024
9:00 – 10:00 am PDT, 10:00 – 11:00 am MDT, 11:00 am – 12:00 pm CDT, 12:00 – 1:00 pm EDT

Registration closes at 12:00 pm MDT on Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Foundation Members FREE
Nonmembers $50

On March 27, 2024, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) released a final waste prevention rule to regulate the venting, flaring, and leaking of natural gas produced from onshore federal and Indian oil and gas leases. This final rule represents BLM’s third attempt in recent years to update requirements that were in place for more than 40 years. BLM finalized regulations in 2016 under the Obama administration that BLM then revised in 2018 under the Trump administration, but both sets of regulations were invalidated by courts, thus reverting management of natural gas emissions to Notice to Lessees and Operators (NTL)-4A that was adopted in 1979.

This webinar will provide an overview of key issues associated with BLM’s new rule, including:

  • Redefinition of unavoidably and avoidably lost natural gas from oil wells on onshore federal and Indian leases;
  • New uniform volumetric thresholds in lieu of economics-based sundry notices for royalty-free flaring;
  • Royalty implications; 
  • Comparison to the requirements of existing NTL-4A and the invalidated 2016 and 2018 rules; 
  • Compliance deadlines; and
  • Tips and potential pitfalls for operators on Federal and Indian oil and gas leases.

KATHLEEN C. SCHRODER, Moderator, Partner, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP, Denver, CO 
JAMES M. AUSLANDER, Principal, Beveridge & Diamond PC, Washington, DC