BLM’s Public Lands Rule – What the Oil & Gas Industry Needs to Know

  • a Virtual Setting
  • June 6, 2024

BLM’s Public Lands Rule – What the Oil & Gas Industry Needs to Know

Thursday, June 6, 2024
12:00 – 1:00 pm PDT, 1:00 – 2:00 pm MDT, 2:00 – 3:00 pm CDT, 3:00 – 4:00 pm EDT

Registration closes for at 12:00 pm MDT on June 5, 2024

FNREL Members – FREE
Nonmembers  $50


On April 18, 2024, the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) announced a watershed rule governing management of federal public lands, known as its "Public Lands Rule." Most notable, the Public Lands Rule recognizes conservation on equal footing with the other multiple uses of the public lands. The Public Lands Rule also announces new regulations governing leases for restoration and mitigation of the public lands—a wholly new concept for public lands management. It also announces new regulations that require BLM to establish overarching land health standards for all public lands. Finally, the Public Lands Rule revises BLM's regulations regarding the designation and management of Areas of Critical Environmental Concern (ACECs).

Join us for a moderated discussion of the Public Lands Rule by a panel of experts who will provide an overview of the Public Lands Rule and insights, including:

  • Key elements of each of the Public Land Rule's components
  • Expected changes in BLM's management of the public lands in response to the Public Lands Rule
  • Questions raised by the Public Lands Rule
  • Potential litigation resulting from the Public Lands Rule


KATHLEEN C. SCHRODER,
Series Chair and Moderator, Partner, Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP, Denver, CO
SAM KALEN, William T. Schwartz Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Wyoming College of Law, Laramie, WY
 
JEFFREY H. WOOD, Partner, Baker Botts, Washington, DC