The Final Phase 2 National Environmental Policy Act Implementing Regulation

  • a Virtual Setting
  • June 11, 2024

The Final Phase 2 National Environmental Policy Act Implementing Regulation

Live Webinar

Tuesday, June 11, 2024
9:00 – 10:30 am PDT, 10:00 – 11:30 am MDT, 11:00 am – 12:30 pm CDT, 12:00 – 1:30 pm EDT

Registration closes at 12:00 pm MDT on Monday, June 10th

FNREL Members – FREE
Nonmembers  $50


The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) has published final amendments to its National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) implementing regulations as part of its phased rulemaking initiated in 2021. The Final NEPA Implementing Regulations Revisions, Phase 2, published in the May 1, 2024, Federal Register, reflects CEQ’s effort to “revise, update and modernize” the regulations at 40 CFR Parts 1500-1508. The Phase 2 Rule implements Biden Administration priorities, including bipartisan permitting reforms in the Fiscal Responsibility Act and first-time codification of climate change and environmental justice principles for NEPA purposes. It includes many changes intended to restore the regulations to their 1978 language and intent, introduces a novel approach to new agency categorical exclusions, and addresses how agencies will approach projects with substantial beneficial effects.

Join our expert webinar panel for a discussion of:

  • A chronological summary of the 2020 and Phase 1 NEPA rules; 
  • Key elements of CEQ’s Phase 2 NEPA Rule;
  • Implications of the Phase 2 NEPA Rule for energy and natural resource projects; and
  • The possible interplay between the Phase 2 NEPA Rule and new agency rules such as Bureau of Land Management’s Conservation and Landscape Health rule and the Endangered Species Act regulations issued by the Fish and Wildlife Service and the National Marine Fisheries Service.
     


DANIELLE DIMAURO
, Moderator, Special Counsel, Welborn Sullivan Meck & Tooley, P.C., Denver, CO
HADASSAH (DESSA) M. REIMER
, Of Counsel, Holland & Hart LLP, Jackson, WY
TEMPLE LEIGH STOELLINGER
, Associate Professor and Wyoming Excellence Chair, University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY