The following stand-alone scholarship funds have been established to honor a living or deceased leader, Foundation member, or other contributor to the natural resources, energy, and mineral law community by creating a fund with customized restrictions consistent with the wishes of the donors or honorees. New stand-alone endowments or other funds may be established with a gift alone or with others in a combined amount of $150,000 or more.

Frances Hartogh – The Frances Hartogh Diversity Outreach Scholarship Program was made possible by the generosity of Rob Risley, previously Senior Counsel at Freeport-McMoRan and the Freeport-McMoran Foundation. The scholarship honors one of the Foundation’s distinguished legal professionals who played a pivotal role in establishing and nurturing the Foundation’s Scholar Development Program. Read more about the scholarship and Frances Hartogh. 

Charles Edgar "Chuck" Moran – In 2020, we bid farewell to a remarkable individual, Charles Edgar "Chuck" Moran. Chuck's passing was an unexpected loss that deeply touched all who knew him. His memory lives on through his unwavering passion for knowledge, accuracy, and equity in the field of oil and gas exploration across the vast expanse of the western United States. In honor of Chuck’s enduring commitment to the oil and gas industry, an annual scholarship was established. Read more about Chuck and his contribution to the profession and The Foundation of Natural Resources and Energy Law. 

Mary A. Viviano – Mary A. Viviano passed away on August 6, 2020. The Mary A. Viviano Scholarship Fund was established in Mary’s name by Mary’s family and the Foundation. Mary’s achievements are well-known, for over thirty years she served the profession and community with distinction. Read more about Mary's legacy which will continue to shine brightly in the hearts and minds of those she touched.